I Pronounce You Man and Man

So I recently decided that it’s time I quit neglecting this blog…for about the fourth or fifth time. I’ve lost count. It’s not all my fault, I’ve been really busy with work and when I’m not working I’m sleeping and when I’m not sleeping or working, I’m doing other stuff. SO…let’s get started.

With recent events I’ve decided to give my opinion about this whole marriage equality business. I’ll make it short, sweet, and to the point.
I know the title only talks about two men getting married, but if two women want to get married I think that they should be allowed. Fuck what your bible says about it, fuck what you’re thoughts are on it, fuck what anyone says about it. Let them do it. Why? Because marriage shouldn’t be restricted to a man and a woman who are in love. If a man loves a man (or a woman loves a woman) and wants to marry him (or her) and spend the rest of his life with him (or her) then he (or she) should be allowed to just the same as a man who wants to marry a woman are.
So, why’d I say fuck what your bible says? Aside from thinking that entire book is a bunch of shit, there’s this nifty little thing called SEPARATION OF CHURCH AND STATE. I don’t care if this country was founded with religion, religion cannot be used to make laws. You can’t lawfully deny someone something because they don’t share the same religious view as you do or they go against your religion. It’s called discrimination and that is illegal. So in a sense, the making of same-sex marriage illegal is hypocritical because the law that makes it illegal is, in itself, illegal.

“Gays shouldn’t be allowed to marry because being gay is a choice…”. I believe Ellen DeGeneres said not too long ago “…why don’t you try being gay and see how it goes.” You don’t just choose to be gay, it doesn’t work that way.

So that’s my opinion on the matter. I’d have typed more but my thoughts are a little busy with other matters at the moment and I can’t zero in on this one topic.
Leave your thoughts below in the comments.

One response to “I Pronounce You Man and Man

  1. I don’t think it’s anyone’s business.. It’s like straight couples. No one’s business if some person you’ve never met is getting married.. If they’re having sex, if they live together. You don’t know. It’s there but you don’t know because it’s not really anyone’s business. I’m all for it because well.. Duh.. If you don’t support it, stay straight. No one is going to force you to support it or go into it, just fucking respect them doing what they want even if you won’t respect their actions. The bible says that that’s wrong and people think that it should be illegal, but how come its not a big legal issue when it comes to abandoning your family or committing adultery or anything like that that is also in the commandments. If you want to bring religion into it, its not the only flaw. So just let them be, they’re just like you except they fancy the same sex. How could it possibly be such a big deal. In my opinion.

Leave a Reply

